ICEE website header logo
Smart Indiana Campaign    KidsEcon Posters webpage    Indiana Council for Economic Education Facebook Page   Twitter

Olin Davis Award

For Exemplary Teaching of Economics

This distinguished award is presented each year to K-12 teachers who have excelled in teaching and promoting the teaching of economics. Two outstanding teachers will be selected as statewide winners (one for elementary grades and one for secndary grades). Three to four finalists will each receive $500 and the statewide winners receives $1,000.  These awards are made possible by the generous support of Indiana Farm Bureau and Farm Bureau Foundation. All will be honored at ICEE's awards program in 2020. Applications are due in the ICEE office by June 1, 2020.

Entry Form Guidelines (pdf format)

2018-19 Award Winners:

State Winner: Chris Stevenson, Covenant Christian High School, Indianapolis
Finalist: Eric Arcella, Crown Point High School, Crown Point
Finalist: Kristen Freitag, Michigan City High School, Michigan City
Finalist: Michael Weesner, Career Academy, South Bend

Honorable Mention:: Jeff Livensparger, Homestead High School, Fort Wayne
Honorable Mention: Amy Riley, Warsaw Community High School, Warsaw

2017-18 Award Winners:

State Secondary Winner: Alecia Adams, Brown County High School, Nashville
State Elementary Winner: Natalie Hines, Rousseau McClellan, Indianapolis
Finalist: Lyndsey Davis, New Castle High School, New Castle
Finalist: Dennise Grater, McCutcheon High School, Lafayette
Finalist: Chassity Mahaska, Franklin Central High School, Indianapolis

Honorable Mention:: Carlene Archie, Ignite Achievement Academy, Indianapolis
Honorable Mention: Luke Chanley, Jackson Creek Middle School, Bloomington

Honorable Mention: Denise Corbin, Waldron Jr/Sr High School, Waldron

2016-17 Award Winners:

State Secondary Winner: John Kruggel, Brownsburg High School, Brownsburg
State Elementary Winner: Justine Skillman, Hasten Hebrew Academy, Indianapolis
Finalist: Laura Duncan, Triton Central High School, Fairland
Finalist: Chris Stevenson, Covenant Christian High School, Plainfield

Finalist: Barbara Tilley, Mintonye Elementary School, Lafayette
Finalist: Emily Vanderwall, Michelle Tuinstra, Kim Plantenga, Lafayette Christian School, Lafayette

2015-16 Award Winners:

State Co-Winner: Renee Vanlandingham, Fishers High School, Fishers
State Co-Winner: Christy Harshbarger, Mayflower Mill Elementary School, Lafayette
Regional: Kathryn Dodds, Happy Hollow Elementary School, Lafayette
Regional: Todd DeVries, Westville High School, Westville

Regional: Tracy Franklin, Jefferson High School, Lafayette
Regional: Nathan Bruck, Greenfield-Central High School, Greenfield

2013-14 Award Winners:

State: Mary Page, Central Middle International School, Kokomo
Regional: Leigha Coleman, Bosse High School, Evansville
Regional: Callie Marksbary, Vinton Elementary School, Lafayette

Honorable Mention: Mary Sturgeon, Sunnyside Intermediate School, Lafayette

2012-13 Award Winners:

State: Kimberly Beal, Burris Laboratory School, Muncie
Regional: Gina Boyd, Mayflower Mill Elementary School, Lafayette
Regional: Cynthia Eveland, Western Intermediate School, Russiaville

Honorable Mention: Jill Hahn, Central High School, Evansville
Honorable Mention: Gina Pullen, South Central High School, Elizabeth

2011-12 Award Winners:

State: Sarah Craft, William W. Borden High School, Borden
Regional: Kristin Chesterman, Eastlawn Elementary School, Burnettsville
Regional: Shanan Riegle, Yorktown Elementary School, Yorktown

2010-11 Award Winners:

State: Kim Cox and Sharon Dillman, Elmwood Primary Learning Center, Peru
Regional: Vicki Boles, Maple Crest Middle School, Kokomo
Regional: Tony Starks, Ben Davis High School, Indianapolis
Regional: Robin Swartz, Irvington Community Middle School, Indianapolis
Honorable Mention: Thomas Byrnes, Kokomo High School, Kokomo
Honorable Mention: Frances Rease, Zionsville West Middle School, Whitestown
Honorable Mention: Rachel Smith, Herron High School, Indianapolis

2009-10 Award Winners:

State: Sally Ball, Nora Elementary School, Indianapolis
Regional: Michael Dunagan, Stonegate Early College HS, Indianapolis
Regional: Dawn June, Greenbrier Elementary School, Indianapolis
Regional: Lauren Mills, McCordsville Elementary School, Fortville
Regional: Emily Wilson, Perry Meridian 6th Grade Academy, Indianapolis
Honorable Mention: Cynthia Moore, Spring Mill Elementary School, Indianapolis
Honorable Mention: Natalie Renwick, Shelbyville High School, Shelbyville
Honorable Mention: Mitchell Steckler, Hamilton Southeastern High School, Fishers

2008-09 Award Winners:

State: Kacie Withers, Corydon Elementary School, Corydon
Regional: Karen Berman, Greenbrier Elementary School, Indianapolis
Regional: Gina Boyd, Mayflower Mill Elementary School, Lafayette
Regional: Margaret Griffin, Lincoln Elementary School, Huntington
Regional: Julie Williams, Carmel Elementary School, Carmel
Honorable Mention: Mirzohid Mamasidikov, MTI School of Knowledge, Indianapolis
Honorable Mention: Jill Ofengender, Greenbrier Elementary School, Indianapolis
Honorable Mention: Lindsay Roundtree, Lapel Elementary School, Anderson
Honorable Mention: Paul Woodling, Northwest High School, Indianapolis

2007-08 Award Winners:

State: Beth Huston, Central Catholic School, Indianapolis
Regional: Nathan Bruck, Greenfield Central High School, Greenfield
Regional: Amanda Exmeyer, Maconaquah High School, Bunker Hill
Regional: Mary Page, Central Middle School, Kokomo
Honorable Mention: Jade Chavez, Jane Lahne, Carol Navarre, Newton Yost Elementary, Porter
Honorable Mention: S. Ashley Couts, Shelbyville Middle School, Shelbyville
Honorable Mention: Elaine Hoblitzell, St. Louis de Montfort, Fishers