ICEE website header logo
Smart Indiana Campaign    KidsEcon Posters webpage    Indiana Council for Economic Education Facebook Page   Twitter

Lawrence Senesh Award for School Administrators

This award is given each year in honor of Larry Senesh, the first professor of economic education in the United States. While at Purdue, Larry developed the idea of the organic curriculum, which is based on the idea that children can learn fundamental economics at an early age through meaningful experiences. His ideas were formulated into a series of elementary school textbooks entitled Our Working World, published by Science Research Associates.

The ICEE gives this award each year to an outstanding school administrator who has excelled in promoting economic education in his or her school or school corporation. Specific judging criteria are:

  • Experience with economic education programs
  • Support of Indiana Council for Economic Education objectives
  • Leadership in staff and curriculum development in economics

Nominations should be received in the ICEE office by June 15. The winning administrator will be honored at the ICEE's Annual Awards Program in the fall with a plaque and check for $750, thanks to the Larry Senesh Endowment, Purdue University.

Senesh Nomination Form (in PDF format)

2012-13 Award Winners:

State Co-Winner: Barbara Burdge, Indianapolis Public Schools
State Co-Winner: Gerald McLeish, Indianapolis Public Schools

2010-11 Award Winner:

State Winner: Suzanne Zybert, Nora Elementary School, Indianapolis

2008-09 Award Winner:

State Winner: Wendy McNamara, North High School, Evansville

2007-08 Award Winner:

State Winner: Suellen Reed, Indiana Department of Education

2006-07 Award Winner:

State Winner: Mary Banta, St. Louis de Montfort Catholic School, Fishers